Monday, May 21, 2018

SHREM'S DOUBLE TROUBLE: "OCEAN" - Goldfrapp feat. Dave Gahan /// "HALO (Goldfrapp Remix)" - Depeche Mode

Goldfrapp's "Silver Eye" gets a Deluxe Edition treatment in July with a bunch of remixes and one very special version of the epic The Haxan Cloak-produced "Ocean" featuring Depeche Mode's legendary frontman Dave Gahan. By pre-ordering the double CD edition of the album you receive an instant download of the track HERE. It is a rather splendid opportunity for me to remind you of that very special, hauntingly cinematic remix Goldfrapp created for "Halo" taken from Depeche Mode's classic "Violator" back in 2004.

Monday, May 14, 2018



I have been rooting for this UK duo from the very beginning. Sink Ya Teeth have appeared on numerous Crème de la Crème charts of mine, stood on the podium of my Hottest Newcomers of 2017 list last December and prepared this fun Perfect Party Playlist exclusively for my blog back in January. Now Maria Uzor and Gemma Cullingford are teasing us even more before the release of their self-titled debut album with an instantly captivating, gritty electro punk gem "Substitutes". Those post-punk vibes (that somehow suddenly sound very current again!), the energy and the haunting vocals serpentined around another entrancing melody, create a unique atmosphere. I am very much looking forward to discovering Sink Ya Teeth's debut album in its entirety. Aside from "Substitutes" the record will feature the pair's previous singles "Pushin'" and the anthemic "If You See Me".

Wednesday, May 9, 2018

Crème de la Shrem: TOP 25 BEST OF APRIL 2018

Exclusive artwork: Les Cullinan Designs

25 (N) "When You're Wrong" - Twin Shadow (Reprise)

24 (N) "Les Oxalis (Alan Braxe Remix)" - Charlotte Gainsbourg (Because Music)

23 (N) "Mother Maybe" - Kadhja Bonet (Fat Possum Records)

22 (N) "PYNK" - Janelle Monáe (Bad Boy Records/WEA International)

21 (N) "Perdida" - Biig Piig (self-released)

20 (N) "Stenio Keytar" - High Klassified (Fool's Gold Records)

19 (N) "Project Redo (Channel Tres Remix)" - Winston Surfshirt (Sweat It Out)

18 (N) "No Her" - Buzzy Lee (Future Classic)

17 (N) "Burn So Deep" - Jimmy Edgar feat. DAWN (Big Beat Records/WEA International)

16 (N) "Censurados" - Ambiance [+ Midnight Magic Remix] (Duro)

15 (N) "Lost In My Boots" - Kwaye (Mind of a Genius Records)

14 (N) "Observer" - Sevdaliza (Twisted Elegance)

13 (N) "Tambulaya" - Pongo (Jardin Rouge)

12 (N) "Bad Bad News" - Leon Bridges (LisaSawyer63)

11 (2) "Illumination" - Dj Koze feat. Róisín Murphy (Pampa Records)

10 (N) "Hunnybee" - Unknown Mortal Orchestra (Jagjaguwar)

9 (N) "Eros" - Little Boots feat. Planningtorock (On Repeat Records)

8 (N) "Television Days" - Clarian (Balance Music)

7 (N) "Don't Know How To Love" - Gus Gus feat. John Grant (Oroom)

6 (N) "Wdsg?" - Bea (self-released)

5 (N) "Épopée Solaire" - Corine feat. Juliette Armanet (Kwaidan)

4 (3) "I Owe You Nothing" - Seinabo Sey (Saraba AB)

3 (N) "Travelling Without Arriving" - Peggy Gou (Phonica Records)

2 (5) "Dancefloor" - Tracey Thorn (Merge Records)

1 (N) "Controller" - Channel Tres (GODMODE)

Friday, May 4, 2018


What a week for all the Róisín Murphy devotees!

The Irish artist's latest creative era, in collaboration with the awe-inspiring electronic funk maestro Maurice Fulton, is officially upon us. Over the course of the summer, Murphy will be releasing a series of four 12" club singles each featuring 2 brand new tracks, produced by Fulton and accompanied by exclusive artwork by Portuguese artist Bráulio Amado.

First up is the multi-layered, bass-laden and 'ridiculously sexy' indeed "All My Dreams" and the seductively dark, half-whispered underground house belter of a b-side "Innocence". Both tracks give a fitting tour around La Murphy's ever unpredictable artistic choices, genre-defying sonic excursions and the fascinatingly wide-ranging palette of her vocal colours and shades. 

There are only 1000 copies of "All My Dreams" 12" singles being made and you can still pre-order yours from The Vinyl Factory. The video for "All My Dreams" drops on 18th May - the physical release day.

Following on the delectably bizarre "Illumination", Róisín Murphy teams up with Dj Koze again for a slice of trip-hop-infused downtempo lushness featuring some of those signature low-register vocals of hers, bringing back (to me!) some sweet Moloko memories. "Scratch That" is a moody piece of electronic mystery, intricately produced by the German dj himself. You can find both tracks on Dj Koze's brand new LP "Knock Knock" which is out today via Pampa Records.

I have updated my Soundcloud playlist celebrating most of Róisín Murphy collaborations to reflect the recent compositions with Dj Koze and the Lebanese collective Mashrou' Leila. You can check it out below: